Food Truck Mafia/ Niles Street Eats

So the Food Truck  Mafia is coming to Niles. They  have been  coming every  Wednesday for a while  now,  and have been  a great addition to  the food  in  Niles.   But I  had  someone on  my FB  page  that  was confused – why  would anyone  eat at  a food  truck?   They  have a pretty  poor  reputation  from  my  childhood – so  I understand  where  the question  comes from . But  there have been  changes.

Here is  what I know  about food  trucks. Long ago  in my  dim past , (i’m 49) ,  food  trucks  went to places like constructions  site and sometimes the beach or  the park.  They  were often the only  food  source and quality  varied.  ( I don’t  know  if  they were actually  unhealthy ). Mom wouldn’t let  you  eat from  them probably  more because of  cost. ( Pretzels in  NYC  were  different) .  Fast Forward  to the  early  2000s. restaurants  are expensive  to  own/maintain and  along  comes an economic  downturn.  restaurants go  out of  business, but  there are a lot of skilled chefs. Catering wasn’t  an option, remember  there was an economic  downturn.   These  trained  chefs  went mobile.  Food  trucks have a  fairly  low overhead (  at  least compared to a  restaurant) and they  could  move to the customers.  Also because of  the size – the chef  can concentrate on  a specialty. ( grilled  cheese! cupcakes!) Twitter  has  been  a major  factor  in  the success of  food  trucks.  Customers  can  follow  them  and know exactly  when  they  will be where.  And  then  you have  things  like  the food truck mafia.  This  is  a group of trucks  that  travel  together  – Put together  6  food trucks ,a  DJ,  and some empty  space;  you  have a party.

So tonight – if you are hungry  and don’t  want  to cook ( esp for all the picky  eaters) come on down to  the Niles plaza.   Get  some food, sit on  a bench – and after you  eat why not dance?

About egb63

Born and raised in New England - moved to the the Bay area in CA. I've had other jobs, but working in libraries is where I belong. Currently working with kids. this is new to me, and more fun than I thought it would be . Occasionally I miss the meaty reference questions, but sometimes it is nice to just point to the books on the States.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment